By Rich Donaldson, EA Grant County Commissioners

POND CREEK, OK-Marva Jo McAllaster, a representative of the Grant County District 3 limestone mining facility, is shown receiving the annual Oklahoma Safety Award at the recent 2014 Oklahoma Department of Mines Award Banquet. 

This award was presented in recognition of the Grant County District 3 mining safety record for 2014. 

McAllaster is the limestone mine Clerk.  She is responsible for the weigh out of all aggregate material and for the upkeep and storage of Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) safety records.

The limestone mining facility was a visionary project of retiring Grant County Commissioner, District 3 Jerry Shaffer.  It is estimated that since start-up, the quarry has provided enough aggregate material for Grant County employees and equipment to cover over 500 miles of county roads.